Skip to content

Communication – To Protect or Not to Protect

May 5, 2012

Among the many things that we discussed leading up to our first experience was the discussion of birth control. For more reasons than one we’ve decided that I would go back on birth control. I am relatively regular, but over the years my period has extended to six days! I consider that to be a major hindrance to being able to play at will. My hope is that with the pill the actual inconvenience would be shortened to four days.

Another reason to go on birth control was because before my husband’s vasectomy all he had to do was look at me and I would get pregnant. I want to be able to play without the stress of wondering if I will get pregnant. As it is, my husband went out and bought a morning after pill to make sure that I was protected. Yes, we used condoms during that first time, but you can never be too careful. The unfortunate thing was that we purchased Next Choice without a prescription at $48 a pop. Not something we can do every time we decide to play.

We also knew that we needed to tell our doctor that we’d made a lifestyle change and that we would need to be tested regularly for STI’s – Sexually Transmitted Infections (formerly called STD’s). I’ll let Blinkspunk tell you about the doctor’s reaction to our news 🙂 It was definitely a little nerve wracking to say the words, but we knew that it was necessary.

We have a profile on a local swinger’s forum and I am amazed at the amount of women who put down that they do not use birth control.  I can understand that if the husband has had a vasectomy there is no need for the wife to have birth control. After all, that’s the way we lived for the last 10 years. But, if you are going to make the conscious decision to have sex with a man who hasn’t been snipped, even sex with a condom, wouldn’t you rest easier with a little extra added protection that is not left to ‘ooops’?

My husband and I have come to wonder if we’ve planned more for this lifestyle than most couples who decide to make the change. It seems that in the last two weeks we’ve discussed almost every contingency imaginable

If you and your husband swing, I’d like to hear from you. What types of discussions did you both have in regards to protection? When did you have this conversation? Days after deciding to live the lifestyle? Months?

~Mercy~

Blinkspunk here. I felt we needed to fess up to the doctor. We’ve been seeing him for over 12 years and he knew us inside and out. So, I called him over and told him the lifestyle is swinging. This was his EXACT reaction:

He sees what I did there

I do stuff there that he sees

After which he said, “Condoms, Condoms, Condoms. Always use Condoms.”  Then he turned around and walked away. It was the funniest exchange I have had with him, ever.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2013 12:04 pm

    Mercy – Have you considered an IUD? It is one of the most effective forms of birth control – nearly as effective as surgery. It lasts 5-10 years depending on the type and it can minimize or even completely stop your periods. I’ve had my Mirena in for either 3 or 4 years now. Like you, even though my husband is fixed, I wanted to make sure I was protecting myself against any unpleasant surprises. (I also use condoms.)

  2. January 1, 2013 4:36 pm

    I think I considered it for a hot second, but did not relish sticking something in my body and leaving it there for an extended period of time. Now that you tell me that it can minimize or eliminate Aunt Flo’s visits I think that I’ll bring the subject up again with my doctor during my next visit in February. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

